Uploaded Ad
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Booze it or lose it

Wright Awarded Jean Freeman Scholarship

Courtesy: NC A&T Sports Information
          Release: 03/25/2014
Print RSS
Article Image
Gia Wright ended her career at North Carolina A&T as one of the best swimmers in program history. She was named A&T's Senior Female Athlete of the Year in 2008. Photo by CCSA conference
Courtesy: NC A&T Sports Information
Related Links

GREENSBORO – North Carolina A&T volunteer assistant swimming coach Gia Wright was one of six recipients of the 2014 Jean Freeman Scholarship awarded by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA), announced on Wednesday.

“I’m overwhelmed that Gia won this award,” head coach Shawn Hendrix said. “Her heart’s desire is to coach swimming at the collegiate level. It would be a great loss to our program, however. She is ready to make the next big step, and this educational opportunity will assist her in that goal.”

Gia Wright was an outstanding swimmer at A&T for four seasons, breaking numerous school records. In 2008, she was named Senior Female Athlete of the Year by the department.

The scholarship will provide each of the six selected assistant coaches with the convention fee, transportation and lodging to the annual CSCAA Convention and Clinic.  The convention will take place on May 20-23 in Las Vegas. Recipients were selected by a committee comprised of members of The Summit, The Summit for Empowering Women in Swimming, of which Freeman was a founding member.

The Jean Freeman Scholarship is given annually to a male and a female assistant coach in each NCAA division whose exceptional contributions have brought recognition to their college or university, and whose leadership, integrity, honesty, competitive attitude and personal graciousness epitomizes those characteristics reflected by Jean Freeman.

2014 Jean Freeman Scholarship Recipients:

Division I: Gia Wright, North Carolina A&T University
Division I: Anthony Randall, University of Rhode Island
Division II: Jacki Hirsty, Assumption College
Division II: Pieter Ritz, Henderson State University
Division III:  Kim Lloyd, Colby-Sawyer College
Division III: Andrew Bretscher, Frostburg State University

About the CSCAA:
Founded in 1922, the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) – the oldest organization of college coaches in America -is a professional organization of college swimming and diving coaches dedicated to serving and providing leadership for the advancement of the sport of swimming at the collegiate level.
The CSCAA recognizes outstanding achievements by coaches and swimmers; promotes communication and cooperation both within the sport of swimming and with our fellow Olympic sports; protects, promotes and seeks to expand competitive intercollegiate swimming programs; recommends rules and regulations to the NCAA; sponsors events; certifies new coaches; provides ongoing educational and leadership training for coaches and athletes; and serves as a source of information to its membership and for the general public.

Latest Videos
Next Up Live on Lock TV
Live Event Schedule
AMF Lanes
Drury Hotels
Marianne's Brows
O Henry Hotel