Thu, Nov 20
Print this article - Broadway Is In Contention For National Honor print
Article rss feed - Broadway Is In Contention For National Honor rss
Broadway Is In Contention For National Honor

GREENSBORO – The Sports Network announced Thursday that North Carolina A&T head coach Rod Broadway is one of 20 finalists who have been nominated for the Eddie Robinson Award to be awarded on Dec. 15 at the Sports Network FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation in Philadelphia, Pa.

The Eddie Robinson Award is awarded to the Football Championship Subdivision’s best coach as voted on by a panel of sports information directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries.

This marks the second nomination in Broadway’s career after he was nominated in 2008 when he was the head coach at Grambling State University. In 2011, Broadway took over an A&T program with a combined 15 wins in the previous six years before his arrival. A&T was also mired in Academic Progress Rate sanctions for a low graduation rate, which minimized the number of scholarships the program issued. In his fourth year with the Aggies, the Aggies have captured at least a share of the 2014 MEAC championship. The Aggies are also expected to have close to their full amount of scholarships in 2015.

“There are a lot of people at this university that gets credit for that, not just me,” said Broadway about the academic improvements of the program. “It started with our chancellor (Dr. Harold L. Martin, Sr.) and his commitment to excellence on the field and off it, and the credit just flows down from there. Turning this thing around was a great effort by our university. It was not a one-man job.”

Heading into their Nov. 22 showdown with rival N.C. Central, the Aggies have compiled a 28-16 record under Broadway. Defense has been the foundation in which Broadway has rebuilt the program. The Aggies have never finished any lower than eighth nationally in total defense under Broadway. This season the Aggies lead the nation in takeaways, they are second in interceptions, third in scoring defense, third in team passing efficiency defense, fifth in turnover margin and seventh in red zone defense.

The 2014 Eddie Robinson Award finalists:

Beau Baldwin, Eastern Washington (Big Sky Conference)

Rod Broadway, North Carolina A&T (Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference)

Clint Conque, Stephen F. Austin (Southland Conference)

Marty Fine, Bryant (Northeast Conference)

Broderick Fobbs, Grambling State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

John Grass, Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)

Dean Hood, Eastern Kentucky (Ohio Valley Conference)

Russ Huesman, Chattanooga (Southern Conference)

Chris Klieman, North Dakota State (Missouri Valley Football Conference)

Mike Kramer, Idaho State (Big Sky Conference)

Dale Lindsey, San Diego (Pioneer Football League)

Sean McDonnell, New Hampshire (CAA Football)

Joe Moglia, Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)

Tim Murphy, Harvard (Ivy League)

Tony Reno, Yale (Ivy League)

Mike Sanford, Indiana State (Missouri Valley Football Conference)

Brock Spack, Illinois State (Missouri Valley Football Conference)

Mark Speir, Western Carolina (Southern Conference)

Joe Susan, Bucknell (Patriot League)

Everett Withers, James Madison (CAA Football)