Fri, Jan 22
Print this article - Three Aggies Named HBCU Football All-American print
Article rss feed - Three Aggies Named HBCU Football All-American rss

GREENSBORO – The reverberations from the North Carolina A&T football team’s 2015 season continued on Friday when the American Urban Radio Networks announced the members of the 2015 SBN Black College All-American Team.  Running back Tarik Cohen (5-6, 173, JR, Bunn, N.C.), offensive tackle Brandon Parker (6-7, 279, RSO, Kannapolis, N.C.) and cornerback Tony McRae (5-9, 178, SR, Laurinburg, N.C.) made the 25-member team.

In addition, N.C. A&T head coach Rod Broadway won the SBN Eddie Robinson award for coach of the year, while Cohen earned the SBN Doug Williams award for offensive player of the year. Broadway and Cohen will receive their awards at the Black College Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony on March 19, 2016 in Atlanta.

“This is never about me,” said Broadway. “I haven’t made a tackle since 1977. I’ve never caught a pass, I’ve never thrown a touchdown or ran a long touchdown, so this is not about me. This season was about these young men who made the sacrifice last summer to become champions.”

Broadway led the Aggies to a 10-2 mark overall and a 7-1 finish in the MEAC as the Aggies won their second consecutive co-MEAC title. Broadway also went on to lead the Aggies to a 41-34 win over Alcorn State in the inaugural Air Force Reserve Celebration Bowl. On Oct. 10, Broadway earned his 100th career victory as the Aggies defeated Norfolk State, 27-3 at William “Dick” Price Stadium in Norfolk, Va. He is 38-19 (.667) as the head coach of N.C. A&T.

Broadway’s other coach of the year awards include: CIAA (2005, N.C. Central), Pigskin Club of Washington, D.C. (2005), CIAA (2006, NCCU), Pigskin Club of Washington, D.C. (2006), SWAC (2008, Grambling) and Pigskin Club of Washington, D.C. (2008).

Cohen was named MEAC Offensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. He also earned third-team All-American honors for the second straight year from STATS FCS. He was also a Boxtorow All-American. Cohen finished fifth in the nation in rushing yards per game (128.6), rushing yards (1,543) and rushing touchdowns (15). He broke the Aggies career rushing record (4,031) and single-season rushing record in 2015. He closed out the season by rushing for 295 yards and three touchdowns in the inaugural Air Force Reserve Celebration Bowl. It was the fifth-best FCS postseason rushing performance in history.

Parker paved the way for many of Cohen’s runs in 2015. Parker was named MEAC Offensive Lineman of the Year before being named a Boxtorow All-American. He has started all 24 games the Aggies have played since he began competing in 2014. He has led the Aggies in pancake blocks the past two seasons and consistently grades out in the high 80’s and low 90’s each week.

McRae ended his career by being named first-team All-MEAC and a Boxtorow All-American after intercepted three passes and breaking up five more. In addition to being an outstanding cover man at cornerback, he was also an excellent tackler. On a team that ranked second in the nation in total defense, McRae led the Aggies in tackles with 55 and even had four tackles for loss. McRae was also a kickoff returner during his career, finishing his career with four returns for touchdowns including two during the 2015 season.