Uploaded Ad
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Booze it or lose it
Article Image
Women's Cross Country's G'Jasmyne Butler earned N.C. A&T's Rookie Female Athlete of the Year Award. Photo by Kevin L. Dorsey
Courtesy: NC A&T Sports Information

Cohen, Robinson Have Big Nights At Aggie ESPY's

Courtesy: NC A&T Sports Information
          Release: 04/24/2017
Print RSS
Related Links

GREENSBORO (April 24, 2017) – The North Carolina A&T Department of Athletics held its annual All-Sports Banquet Monday night, labeled the Aggie ESPY’s. It was a big night for football’s Tarik Cohen (Sr.) who closed out one of the greatest careers in Aggie Athletics and Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference history. Cohen won N.C. A&T’s top male award by being named Male Athlete of the Year for the third straight year. Therefore, Earl M. Hilton III, N.C. A&T’s director of athletics named the award after him.

Cohen also took home Senior Male Athlete of the Year and BoxToRow owner Donal Ware awarded him with the BoxToRow Black College Football Player of the Year award. Cohen also received two team awards in Football MVP and Football Offensive Player of the Year. The night also feature a video dedication to Cohen for a career that earned North Carolina A&T State University a lot of national media attention. Cohen finished his career with 5,619 rushing yards and 59 total touchdowns. Cohen owns 17 N.C. A&T records, has earned numerous All-American honors, is the first three-time MEAC Offensive Player of the Year, a four-time All-MEAC performer and in 2016 he was the first-ever recipient of the Deacon Jones Award given by the Black College Football Hall of Fame. The Pigskin Club of Washington, D.C., also named him their Black College Football Player of the Year.

Bowling’s MacKenzie Robinson (Sr.) also had a huge night. Robinson, who holds a 3.6 grade point average in accounting, was awarded the Joyce Spruill Leadership Scholarship and will receive a $1,000 scholarship next semester. Her bowling exploits earned her the Aggies top female award, Female Athlete of the Year. She led the Aggies to the MEAC championship match while being named first-team All-MEAC for the third time. Robinson is also an All-American. She also earned the prestigious Aggie Athletic Foundation for excellence in the classroom and in sports. The AAF is the official fundraising arm of Aggie Athletics. Robinson also received the Game Changer award from the bowling team.

The North Carolina A&T Sports Hall of Fame Award went to men’s track and field’s Chris Belcher. Belcher, a junior in indoor and a senior in outdoor, recently ran a world-class 9.99 100 meters. Belcher holds the best 100m time in the country. He also helped the Aggies win their first MEAC indoor title in 21 years by winning the 60m, 200m and 4x400 meter relay in February.

Other big winners included women’s cross country’s G’Jasmyne Butler who won Rookie Female Athlete of the Year after earning All-MEAC honors and finishing Top-2 in three cross country meets. Football’s Elijah Bell took home the male rookie honor after leading the Aggies in receiving yards and breaking the freshman receiving touchdown record with eight. Women’s basketball’s Aliyah Kilpatrick (Gr.) won Senior Female Athlete of the Year. During her one season in Aggieland as a graduate transfer, she was ranked in the Top-15 in the MEAC in six different statistical categories.

 Aggie ESPY’s Winners

Athletes of the Year
Male Rookie of the Year – Elijah Bell (FB)
Female Rookie of the Year – G’Jasmyne Butler (WXC)
Senior Female Athlete of the Year – Aliyah Kilpatrick (WBB)
Senior Male Athlete of the Year – Tarik Cohen (FB)
Male Athlete of the Year – Tarik Cohen (FB)
Female Athlete of the Year – MacKenzie Robinson (BWL)

Organizational Winners
North Carolina A&T Sports Hall of Fame – Chris Belcher (MTF)
Aggie Athletic Foundation – MacKenzie Robinson (BWL)
Joyce Spruill Leadership Scholarship – MacKenzie Robinson (BWL)
Michael and Catherine Simmons Award – Robert Pompey and Angela Peterson (University Administrators)

Team Awards
Women’s Bowling Jimmy Mack Award – Kristin Shinn
Women’s Bowling Rising Star Award – Mia Pope
Women’s Bowling Game Changer Award – MacKenzie Robinson
Volleyball Elevating Towards Excellence – Camille Uadiale
Volleyball Aggie Pride Award – Liz Martino
Men’s Basketball Aggie Award – Amari Hamilton
Women’s Tennis Coaches Award – Sheyla Ramirez
Women’s Tennis Rookie of the Year – Kanishka Chawla
Women’s Tennis Most Valuable Player – Khalia Powell
Men’s Tennis Most Valuable Player – Nicolas Arduh
Men’s Tennis Rookie of the Year – Jorge Adair Bartra
Men’s Tennis Coaches Award – Brett Caban
Football MVP – Tarik Cohen
Football Defensive Player of the Year – Marquis Ragland
Football Most Improved Player – Wes Cole
Football Most Outstanding Player of the Year – Tarik Cohen
Football Aggie Award – Denzel Keyes
Football Lineman of the Year – Angelo Keyes
Football Offensive Lineman of the Year – Brandon Parker
Football Leadership Award – Oluwafemi Bamiro
Football Special Teams Player of the Year – Cody Jones
Gold Squad Rookie of the Year – Kiauna Ferguson
Blue Squad Rookie of the Year – Cambrika Jackson
Cheer Program Most Valuable Player – Chelsey Toney
Cheer Coaches’ Award – Talia Thomas
Lady Aggie Coaches Award – Dana Brown
Lady Aggie Best All Around – Aliyah Kilpatrick
Lady Aggie Commit to Grit Award – Whitney Martin
Lady Aggie Rookie of the Year – Alexus Lessears
Men’s Cross Country Most Valuable Performer – Darren White
Men’s Track and Field Most Valuable Performer – Todd Townsend
Women’s Track and Field Most Valuable Performer – Anisa Toppin
Softball 2017 Aggie Academic Award – Morgan Chisholm
Softball 2017 Aggie Pride Award – Zadia Davis
Softball 2017 Aggie Academic Award – Marcey Jiles
Softball 2017 Golden Bat Award – Kimberly Brunson
Baseball Aggie Step Up Award – Adan Ordonez
Baseball Offensive Player of the Year – Myles Sowell
Baseball Newcome of the Year – Greg White
Baseball Pitcher of the Year – Kaeson Wilson
Baseball Freshman of the Year – Michael Johnson
Baseball Most Valuable Person (Student Asst.) – Arric Devond 

Latest Videos
Jul 7 2017
Aggie Sports Swap 1
May 23 2017
The 2016-17 N.C. A&T Athletics...
Sep 4 2016
New Aggie Hall of Famers Speak...
Next Up Live on Lock TV
Live Event Schedule
AMF Lanes
Drury Hotels
O Henry Hotel